WHOO’s Afraid on Halloween??

Photo Oct 05, 12 28 41 PM

I’ve made some fun favors for a Halloween party: mini hand sanitizer holders with a seasonal flair. The owl on the front can be removed and hung as a decoration.

a Parliament of owls

I was inspired by this tutorial (for the holders) and by this tutorial (for the owls), but I made a few changes to fit my materials and design.

wood-grain embossing folder

I used a wood-grain embossing folder to make that tree bark texture on the wrappers.

Photo Oct 05, 11 41 19 AM
Hand sanitizer sitting in the base. The original instructions called for using a square punch to make the opening for the mini bottle, but I ended up trying out all of my oval dies, squares, and rectangles until I found a label die that held it tight without tearing.

Photo Oct 05, 12 29 00 PM

I love this Moon!  I just heat embossed a sentiment from Waltzingmouse’s Vintage Witch stamp set, cut out 2″ circles and used some distress ink to create a shadow.

Photo Oct 05, 12 33 35 PM

For the branches, I used the Sizzix Festive Greenery decorative strip and a little distress ink to add depth.

different species

These owls could be projects in themselves! The tutorial I linked to shows how to use copics and layered die-cutting to give the look of paper piecing.  I actually used the the solid die to cut the backing piece and then embossed the detail die onto that for my coloring guide.

Looking messy!

The coloring looks very messy, but going outside the lines means no white paper shows through!

Looks much better!

This owl looks much better now that it is put together!

Photo Oct 23, 1 56 23 PM

After I assembled the owls, I cut a backing piece from decorative paper and sandwiched some string so the Owl could become an ornament. I found that 3D Zots glue dots worked best at securing the owl to the wrapper but –with patience–could be peeled away cleanly.

Photo Sep 25, 10 06 14 AM (1)

So many different combinations!

Photo Sep 29, 12 19 04 PM

One thought on “WHOO’s Afraid on Halloween??

Leave a Reply

