Festive Thanksgiving Treat Bags

treat bag angled

It seems like I just finished making Halloween candy boxes, and now I’m making these darling little treat bags for my in-laws’ Thanksgiving open house.  They’re relatively simple to make: just a couple of dies, patterned paper and some foiled Dresden turkeys. And hot glue – can’t forget the hot glue!

ghirardelli square

I chose double-sided paper from Basic Grey’s Persimmon collection.  This might be my very favorite autumnal collection of papers, as I find navy and orange to be such a sharp color combination, and I love that the prints range from vintage flowers, to bold stripes and tribal designs.

striped treat bag

I happily mixed and matched patterns, and really like that the design of the die allows for a glimpse of the inside paper pattern at the top of the bag.

Treat Bags

I’m using the Deco Bag Dies by Paper Smooches for my base. I recommend using Scor-tape to hold it together, as you’ll want a strong adhesive.  Be sure to line up the edges of the bags carefully, because the die is designed to make a slightly roomier shape than a flat pocket.

deco die

The medallions are cut from the Sizzix Brenda Walton Medallions Decorative Strip Die  and the Sizzix Mini Paper Rosettes die. If you choose to use the lacier Brenda Walton medallion, don’t bother punching out all of the little holes.  Just start folding along the score lines and most (if not all) of the little bits should fall right out.  You’ll need hot glue to assemble the rosettes, and you can adjust the size depending on how tight you make the centers.

paper strips

I found my foiled turkeys on etsy, but blumchen.com is a great source for all sorts of Dresden trims and shapes.  The turkeys were hot glued to the medallions and then the medallions were hot glued to the bags. Each bag will hold one Ghiradelli square, my favorite kind of treat!

treat bag group

Instead of turkeys, you can die-cut label shapes for the center of the medallions to create fun place cards.  I bet gold heat-embossed leaf or feather designs would look wonderful too.

Turkey Medallion

 

4 thoughts on “Festive Thanksgiving Treat Bags

Leave a Reply

