Christmas Cards: 1 Stamp, 2 Ways

two cards 1 stamp

It’s already December and time to start crankin’ out those Holiday Cards!  I usually make a large batch of cards for my Mom to send out, and they usually need to be completed by Thanksgiving (!). This year, I had a time crunch (travel for a wedding), so I decided to keep it simple.

I found a real show-stopper of a stamp set called Nature’s Peace by Stampin Up! The main stamp will cover an A2 card base, and I just loved that hand-lettered-looking sentiment, as well as all of the animals, flowers and flourishes around the edges.

Stampin Up! set "Nature's Peace"

For my first set of cards, I wanted a folk art look, something that reminded me of Redwork. I decided on pigment ink, because I wanted a bright and smooth and vibrant effect, and “Cherry” from Avery Elle fit the bill.   I decided to heat emboss with clear powder to add just a bit of textural interest and deepen that red color.  I experimented with adding twine or a little sparkle, but I found the image striking enough. I did round the bottom corners. This card was entirely one layer, btw.

red card

For the second set of cards, I thought about a starry night sky, and did my stamping (with Versamark ink) on deep blue card stock. I used silver glitter embossing powder and just love the way there’s sparkly bling, but you can still pick out the details of the snowflakes and the stars hanging off the tree.

blue card

I attached the blue card stock to a white base, using Scrappy Glue.  I’m one of those people who can’t line ANYTHING up, ever. So I find that glue gives me enough “slide time” to get everything straight.

I get my envelopes from Paper Source.  There’s one near me, and they have soooo many colors of card stock and envelopes. I typically bring my cards into the store and compare and select right there.

back of all my cards

Comments? Questions? Let me know 😀

One thought on “Christmas Cards: 1 Stamp, 2 Ways

Leave a Reply

