Box-making Fun with the WRMK Envelope Punch Board

Photo Aug 01, 8 28 54 AM

I was very interested to read the post on Ellen Hutson’s The CLASSroom blog, all about the WRMK Gift Box Punch Board (which I don’t yet own), because there were also instructions for creating a little gift box using the WRMK Envelope Punch Board (which I do own). I made my own gift box and was delighted by the possibilities.

Photo Aug 01, 9 05 43 AM

Photo Aug 01, 9 05 49 AM

Then I decided to try to make one using a square of 6” paper (rather than the 6 1/4” paper in the original instructions). The only other modification I made was to punch and score the paper at 2 1/2” and 3 1/2” vs the 2 5/8” and 3 5/8” in the original. You can see the just-slightly smaller box below, and now I can get four boxes from one sheet of 12”x12” paper!

Photo Aug 01, 9 11 10 AM

Photo Aug 01, 9 08 44 AM

Photo Aug 01, 9 05 32 AM

Flush with my success, I hunted around for other fun things I could make with my Envelope Punch Board, and I found this great video by Dee Slater for making tiny treat boxes. These use a 6”x6” piece of paper and are disarmingly simple to make.

Check out my sample below.

Photo Aug 01, 8 29 23 AM

I used Graphic45 “By the Sea” paper and Memory Box lobster and crab dies. I wanted to make the crustaceans look “freshly cooked,” so I cut them from red card stock, rounded their bodies a bit with a stylus and gave them a spritz of brown ink. A Martha Stewart punch made the sand dollar and starfish, which I then coated in Shabby White embossing powder and Antique Linen Distress glitter, respectively. I poked through my twine scraps for the knots on the handle.

Do you have a favorite “other” use for the WRMK Envelope Punch Board? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Box-making Fun with the WRMK Envelope Punch Board

Leave a comment